Senior Scholar Awardees for 2000

The Ellison Medical Foundation is pleased to announce the Senior Scholar Awardees for 2000. They are:

Giuseppe Attardi, M.D.
California Institute of Technology
Aging-dependent Large Accumulation of Mutations at Specific Sites in Human Mitochondrial DNA Control Region

Tamas Bartfai, Ph.D.
The Scripps Research Institute
Chronic Neuroprotection during Aging by UCP Mediated Simultaneous Reduction of Free Radical Formation and Exocitotoxicity

Nir Barzilai, M.D.
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Identification of Longevity Genes in Founder Populations

Roger Brent, Ph.D.
Molecular Sciences Institute, Berkeley, CA
Identification of Protein Regulators of Self-renewal, Differentiation, and Senescence in Embryonic Stem Cells

Linda B. Buck, Ph.D.
Harvard Medical School
A High Throughput Chemical Scheme for Longevity Genes

Jack D. Griffith, Ph.D.
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Telomere Looping and Control of Cell Aging

Philip C. Hanawalt, Ph.D.
Stanford University
Repair of Oxidative DNA Damage in Human Neurons

Peter J. Hornsby, Ph.D.
Baylor College of Medicine
Cell Transplantation Models for Gene Action in Human Aging

Thomas Kornberg, Ph.D.
University of California, San Francisco
Toward a Comprehensive Assessment of Gene Expression during Development and Aging of Drosophila

Charles M. Lieber, Ph.D.
Harvard University
Molecular through Cellular Changes Responsible for Alzheimer's Disease

David Ron, M.D.
New York University School of Medicine
Proteotoxicity and Aging

Thomas P. Sakmar, M.D.
Rockefeller University
The Chromophore Regeneration Pathway in Age-related Macular Degeneration

Sangram S. Sisodia, Ph.D.
The University of Chicago
Hippocampal Neuroplasticity in Transgenic Mouse Models of Alzheimer's Disease