Awards for New Scholars 2002: Aging Program and Global Infectious Disease Program

Aging Program

The Ellison Medical Foundation is pleased to announce the New Scholar Awardees for 2002. They are:

Yidong Bai, Ph.D.
University of Texas Health Science Center San Antonio
Genetic and functional analysis of mitochondrial DNA mutations associated with aging.

Antonio Bedalov, M.D., Ph.D.
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
Chemical Genetic Approaches to Aging

Ana Maria Cuervo, M.D., Ph.D.
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Restoration of chaperone-mediated autophagy activity in old rodents

Ya Ha, Ph.D.
Yale University School of Medicine
Structural studies of human y-secretase

Michael Gordon Kaplitt, M.D., Ph.D.
Weill Medical College of Cornell University
Effect of PTEN Anti-Oncogene on Age-Related Neurodegenerative Disorders

Tae-Wan Kim, Ph.D.
Columbia University
Genetic Studies of Factors Controlling Amyloid Production

Stephen Lyle, M.D., Ph.D.
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
Molecular and Cell Biology of Adult Epithelial Stem Cells

Giovanni Paternostro, M.D., Ph.D.
The Burnham Institute
Genetic Analysis of Cardiac Aging in Drosophila

Jacob Raber, Ph.D.
Oregon Health & Science University
Gender and Isoform-Specific Effects of ApoE on Cognition in Humans

Brad A. Rikke, Ph.D.
University of Colorado - Boulder
QTLs Specifying the Retardation of Reproductive Senescence by Dietary Restriction

Global Infectious Disease Program

The Ellison Medical Foundation is pleased to announce the New Scholar Awardees for 2002. They are:

Ernesto Abel-Santos, Ph.D.
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Peptide Modulators of Bacterial Cell Differentiation

Christopher F. Basler, Ph.D.
Mount Sinai School of Medicine
Emerging Viruses: Interferon-Antagonists and Virulence

Kirk W. Deitsch, Ph.D.
Weill Medical College of Cornell University
DNA Replication and var gene _expression in Plasmodium falciparum

Michael S. Diamond, M.D., Ph.D.
Washington University School of Medicine
The Immunology and Neurobiology of West Nile Encephalitis in a Mouse Model of Disease

Michael S. Glickman, M.D.
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
Coordinate regulation of M. tuberculosis cell envelope composition during symbiosis

Kristin M. Hager, Ph.D.
University of Notre Dame
Analysis of membrane trafficking events in the regulation of organelle biogenesis and stability in Apicomplexan parasites

B. Joseph Hinnebusch, Ph.D.
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, National Institutes of Health
Mechanisms of Yersinia pestis transmission and pathogenicity

Marc Lipsitch, D. Phil.
Harvard School of Public Health
Antibiotic Resistance in Streptococcus pneumoniae: Transmission Dynamics and Consequences for Public Health

David S. Schneider, Ph.D.
Stanford University
Dissecting malaria vector-pathogen interactions using a Drosophila-Plasmodium genetic system

Fitnat Yildiz, Ph.D.
University of California - Santa Cruz
Environmental factors that modulate biofilm formation dynamics in Vibrio cholerae O1 E1 Tor