Awards for Senior Scholars 2003: Aging Program and Global Infectious Disease Program

Aging Program

Ellison Medical Foundation is pleased to announce the Senior Scholar Awardees for 2003. They are:

Frederick W. Alt, Ph.D.
Center for Blood Research, Boston
The Biology of Mammalian Sir2 Homologs and their Role in Lifespan Determination

Spyridon Artavanis-Tsakonas, Ph.D.
Massachusetts General Hospital Cancer Center
A Novel Class of Aging Genes in Drosophila melanogaster

Andrzej Bartke, Ph.D.
Southern Illinois University School of Medicine
Early Hormonal Signaling and Longevity: Role of Long-term Alterations in Glucose Homeostasis

Ronald A. DePinho, M.D.
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
The Genetic Role of Telomere Dynamics and DNA Damage Response in Stem Cell Depletion, Organ Homeostasis and Aging

Jeff W. Lichtman, M.D., Ph.D. /co-PI &
Joshua R. Sanes, Ph.D. /co-PI

Washington University
Time Lapse Imaging of Neurons as They Age

Susan L. Lindquist, Ph.D.
Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research
Investigating the Potential Involvement of Cellular Quality Control Mechanisms and the Mammalian Prion, PrP, in Neurodegenerative Diseases

Olivia M. Pereira-Smith, Ph.D.
University of Texas Health Science Center - San Antonio
The Role of the MORF/MRG Family of Novel Transcription Factors in In Vitro and In Vivo Aging

Arlan G. Richardson, Ph.D. /co/PI &
University of Texas Health Science Center - San Antonio
Fred E. Regnier, Ph.D./co-PI
Purdue University
A Novel Proteomic Approach to Identifying, Sequencing, and Quantifying Oxidatively Damaged Proteins in Tissues of Aged Animals

James L. Sherley, M.D., Ph.D.
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Identification of Chemical “Age Spots” on Immortal DNA Strands in Adult Stem Cells

Eric Verdin, M.D.
J. David Gladstone Institutes
Role of a SIRT3, a Sir2-related Mitochondrial Protein Deacetylase, in Aging

Robert A. Weinberg, Ph.D.
Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research
Cell Physiologic Stresses and Telomere-Based Cell Senescence

Global Infectious Disease Program

The Ellison Medical Foundation is pleased to announce the Senior Scholar Awardees for 2003. They are:

Roy Curtiss, III, Ph.D.
Washington University
Providing an Economic Benefit to Using a Vaccine to Enhance Food Safety and to Reduce Antibiotic Use in Agriculture

Richard A. Flavell, Ph.D.
Yale University School of Medicine
Role of Nucleotide Binding Domain-Leucine Rich Repeat Proteins in Host Defense to Microbial Challenge

Jeffrey I. Gordon, M.D.
Washington University School of Medicine
A Gnotobiotic Zebrafish Model for Analyzing Symbiotic Host-bacterial Interactions in the Mammalian Gut

Daniel L. Hartl, Ph.D.
Harvard University
Conditional Targeted Deletions in Plasmodium falciparum

Karla Kirkegaard, Ph.D.
Stanford University School of Medicine
Systematic Analysis of Positive-strand RNA Viral Transmission Genetics

Carl Nathan, M.D.
Weill Medical College of Cornell University
Genomic Approach to Improved Immunogenicity of M. tuberculosis

Peter Palese, Ph.D.
Mount Sinai School of Medicine
Cellular Genes and Viruses: Who Wins The War?

Charles M. Rice, Ph.D.
Rockefeller University
Towards Broad-spectrum Antivirals: Functional Screens for Nonessential and Antiviral Host Genes

Alexander Rich, M.D.
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Viral Pathogenic Mechanisms Involving Z-DNA Binding Proteins

Abigail A. Salyers, Ph.D.
University of Illinois – Champaign-Urbana
Resistance Gene Flow in the Human Colonic Microflora

Ronald P. Taylor, Ph.D.
University of Virginia
Investigation of Mechanisms Leading to Anemia at Low Parasite Burden in Children with Malaria

This research is being conducted by Ronald Taylor, Ph.D., in collaboration with co-PI John Waitumbe, D.V.M., Ph.D., from the Kenyan Medical Research Institute.